About Domestic Violence Charges in California
June 23, 2023
Whether you were defending yourself or were falsely accused, facing a domestic violence charge is, in many ways, an uphill battle, but there is hope if you take immediate action and get the help you need. Criminal Defense Lawyer R.J. Dreiling knows how to get a fair outcome in a domestic violence case.
Understanding Your Domestic Violence ChargeDomestic violence can be charged in situations outside of the traditional family relationship. In simple terms, you can be charged with domestic violence for causing harm to or threatening to cause harm to anyone you live with or used to live with. This can include the following relationships:
- Current or former spouses
- Current or former partners of an intimate relationship
- Current or former cohabitants
- Your parents
- Your children
- Your relatives
Felony vs. Misdemeanor Domestic ViolenceThe two most common domestic violence charges defendants face are as follows:
- Domestic battery. This is a misdemeanor offense, charged when you willfully touch a cohabitant, partner, or other domestic relation in a harmful or offensive manner. Note that you do not have to cause physical injury. If convicted, you face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
- Inflicting corporal injury on an intimate partner. It is charged when law enforcement believes that you willfully inflicted physical injury on an intimate partner that resulted in a “traumatic condition.” This is a “wobbler” offense under California law, which means that it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. If it is charged as a felony, you face a prison sentence of two to four years and a fine of up to $6,000.